Faculty of Social Science

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria-Nigeria


What is currently known as Faculty of Social Sciences today is traceable to the then Faculty of Arts which started in 1962 with five Departments. In March 1966, the University approved the establishment of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences to replace the Faculty of Arts, which by then had also set up a French Departments. In that year, an Department of economics was established. The following year, 1967, Departments of Sociology and Government respectively were added. So also, was in 1976 that saw the creation of the Department of Nigerian and African Languages while the Department of Government was renamed Department of Political Science. The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences continued to award degrees to both Undergraduates and Postgraduates until 1997. THE BIRTH OF FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCES The Faculty of Social Sciences was created in 1997 during the tenure of the first and only Sole Administrator – Major General Mamman Tsoho Kontagora (Rtd). The creation was to validate the ABU University Statute which recognized the Faculty of Social Sciences – different from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. The Faculty which is the youngest in the University now occupies the defunct School of Remedial Studies. It has four (4) Departments: Economics, Mass Communication, Political Science and International Relations and Sociology. The Faculty began on a modest level with little physical infrastructure, but with very experienced academic and administrative staff. The Faculty runs sub-degree programmes to cater for the middle level man power needs of the country, such as Diploma in Mass Communication, and Diploma in Election Administration. Also, degrees are awarded in the following areas:
Find Us With Google Maps »
Faculty of Social Science
Main Campus Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
Postcode/Zip: 81001